Crappies “R” Lunch – Muskie Mel Series

crappies-print-cropThis is one of the many wonderful oil paintings that my father, Mel Belt, has done over the years.  Of course the photo hardly does it justice.  The original painting current hangs on his wall, it’s a well done oil on canvas painting that he completed back in 2007.

He is an avid fisherman currently living out his retirement years in the inspiring northwoods.  Where he regularly paints, but rarely finishes, in his free time during the long winter months.  While working as a fishing guide he earned the nick name “Muskie Mel” from the locals for his skill in finding and usually catching the big muskies.

I have always admired his work but I am too afraid to pick up the brush myself for fear of falling short of his legacy.  I am sure one of these days I will have to sit down with him and let him show me some techniques so that I can someday bravely venture down this art path.

I have recently however talked him into to letting me sell his prints online.  This print is available on Etsy!  Click here to see that page.

Leave a Reply

