Common Loon

LOON_IMG_3688  The Great Northern Loon is a large member of the loon, or diver, family of birds. The species is known as the Common Loon in North America.  These birds are common where I live now and I have photographed them a few times.

I really love to take pictures of them in the spring when they have they babies with them.  They are very protective of their young, which often do not live to see adulthood due to predators on land, in the air and in the water.

These birds also make for great black and white photos, I have an idea to use some of them to create a black and while pointillism, but I have yet to start on one.  Maybe for my next project. LOONS_IMG_3521LOON_IMG_3465

One thought on “Common Loon

Leave a Reply

